Sputñik originally formed in 1999 in Sremska Mitrovica, where they recorded several demo songs. The name "Sputnik" was created by Milošević and original band member Aleksandar Cvijetinović, who were fascinated by Russian avant-garde and Soviet art. Their musical influences were, and still are: Joy Division, Suede, Depeche Mode, The Smiths, Duran Duran, The Killers and many other bands from new wave to indie-pop sounds. The band took a prolonged break at the beginning of 2002 and a new incarnation of the band happened when singer Žikica Milošević came up with the idea to gather the crew in Novi Sad and give the old songs a modern twist, as well as to create new ones. After several personal rotations, recording of the first single "The Drinkable World" began in February of 2012. Current band members are Žikica Milošević, Kiril Boyko, Vladimir Čudinov, Viktor Vinaji, Valerija Nestereva and Nevena Reljin. Their first EP "In Between Worlds" came out in January 2016, while in February 2018 the band released the album “A Memory of Fire” with 13 songs for Take It Or Leave It Records.